Guspy Warrior: Lovers Rock – The Album

Title: Lovers Rock – The Album
Artiste: Guspy Warrior
Label: Mafia Nineteen Music
Producers: T-Man (Temptation Chirenje), Mount Zion Music & Stotter (Empire Records)
Release: February 14, 2016

Guspy Warrior real name Emmanuel Manyeruke, son of legendary gospel singer Mechanic Manyeruke has recently dropped his 7th studio album titled Lovers Rock.

The album delivers 10 solid tracks of Lovers Rock. It does not stray nor compromise neither in delivery nor in production quality, the latter being a sore point in Zimdancehall circles yet with the growth of the genre has seen much improvement over the years. The aspect of love is explored in all its manifestations from the love of Marijuana in the witty word play song Marry You, the lyricist in the Warrior comes to the fore as he laces lyrically personifying the herb. The love of Reggae is lauded in the opening track Sweet Reggae Music delivered in Shona; even when you don’t understand the language you feel the music and agree to everything being said. An opening track of note.

The stand out track One More Night is taken from the Legend of Soul Riddim – Zim Edition, an Abra Simzz and TMan production for the Zim Artists. A lovers rock tune exalting the beauty of love and the longing of extending the moments beyond the one night. Cherrio Baby sounds like the track that you would want to wake up to in the morning in the gaze of your loved one. Its delivered in the Shona language and evokes something about morning glory. Call on Me closes the set with a lingering voice of the Warrior assuring you that he, like a true African Warrior, is dependable and got your back be it musically or otherwise.

The album is arranged in that Shona and English titles alternate, giving a flow that reminds you that you are listening to Reggae from Zimbabwe and giving the casual listener a nice introduction to Guspy Warrior if you have not yet heard Seunononga, the hit song that got him up there on Zimdancehall A List. Temptation Chirenje known as T-Man, produced an impressive album, well arranged, delivered in a true warrior style that remains true to its title – One drop Lovers Rock

01- Sweet Reggae Music 04:22
02- How Could You 05:18
03- Kuti Ufare 03:54
04- Marry You 03:50
05- Cherrio Baby 04:49
06- I’m The Only One 03:38
07- Tachata 03:19
08- One More Night 04:12
09- Musha Wedu 04:11
10- Call On Me 04:30

All songs written by: Emmanuel Manyeruke (Guspy Warrior).
Mixed and Mastered By: T-Man (Temptation Chirenje).
Executive Producers Emmanuel Manyeruke and Temptation Chirenje.




%d bloggers like this: