Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

SATMA Awards 2018 Winners

SATMA Winner Ras Obrigado

The SATMA Awards closed its voting lines on September 28 and the awards ceremony was held on September 29 at Mmabatho Convention Center, Mahikeng. Ras Obrigado won in the Best Reggae Album, beating Veteran Angolah Maseko and Sizwe Zakwe.

Here is the full list of the SATMA Awards Winners 2018.

Best Reggae – Ras Obrigado Lenga
Best Afro Soul – Daniel brothers
Best Praise Singer of the year – Malume Tau
Best Poet – Venda boy Poet
Best Traditional Dance Group – Nomtiti
Best newcomer – Bakgatlha ba Mosetlha
Best male artist – Amagcokama
Best female artist – Khombo Shirimani
Best Xitsonga Artist – Benny Mayengani

Best Mbaqanga Album – Ababekezeli for Sipheth’imnyovu
Best Accapella (Isicathamiya) Album – Junior King Star Brothers for Amaqola Emvelo
Best Sepedi Album – Tau Sebata for Bapedi Album
Best TshiVenda Album – Vhavenda cultural group for Tshanda Nguvhoni
Best Xitsonga Album – Benny Mayengani for Tintoma
Best Ndebele Album – Amarobazibukhali for Simarobazikukhali Album
Best IsiXhosa Album – Lingekile Ndlokolo for Igwiba
Best Setswana Album – Tau Tona for Koi
Best Siswati Album – Makhalisa for Ngishisa bhe
Best Sesotho Album – Dineo for Mohase No. 3
Best Boeremusiek Album – Kosie Beukes for Konsertina Kaskenades
Best Maskandi Album – Amagcokama for I-Crush Yami

Best Traditional Music Radio Programme of the Year – Lavuth’iBhayi, Umhlobo Wenene FM
Best Song of the year – Smangele, Is’gwebo Sentambo
Best Vernacular Hip Hop song – Lil D Dakid
Lifetime Achievement Awards – Mama Paulina and Khathide Ngobe
Lasting Legacy Award – Rex Rabanye
Best traditional radio presenter of the year – Monwabisi Bangi “Gudla”, Umhlobo Wenene FM
Best visual art artist of the year – Michael Selekane
Best African Jazz song of the year – Lentle.P, Motjwa Gae
Best traditional music air-play radio station of the year – Ligwalwa FM
Best traditional radio program loyal listener of the year – Gijimani Ntuli, Ikwekwezi FM
Best cultural electronic media journalist of the year – Sakhile Sithole, Soweto TV
Best traditional TV program of the year – Ugubhu Lwami, 1 KZN TV
Best cultural electronic print journalist of the year – Lulamile Feni, Daily Dispatch
Best Department of Arts and Culture award – Limpopo Provincial Government
Best Traditional Community Radio DJ – Andile MC Pholoba Ngcobo, Izwi98fm




Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: