AlbumFeatureMusicTop Ten

2017 Album/EP Releases

Here are some of the projects we had the opportunity to highlight on MzansiReggae. Studio Albums are a rarity and therefore not much output in terms of full albums and/or EP’s. Here are some of the projects produced in 2017

Skank and The Roots – Jah Love

Skank and The Roots Band lost their Drummer this year.
This album, in a way is a celebration of him.
Rize in Powa Mr Dumile Desmond “Rebel “Dabula [D. 23 Sept 17]

Track List
01. Run Wicked Man
02. Safety Train
03. Concrete Love
04. Natty Dread
05. Don’t Wanna Dance
06. Jah Love
07. Can’t Trust
08. Cool Day
09. Good Man Down
10. Jah is Great
Release Date: March 2017
FB: Skank and The Roots

CrosbyA Better Place
A Better Place is Crosby’s first officially released Album recorded in Germany with The Next Generation Band. He followed up with a European Tour and also launched his website. Check it out on He also backed Gentlemen when he performed in Cape Town. Its been a Good year for Cros.


1. Better Place
2. Clean the Streets [Ft. Fyah T]
3. Green Ting
4. Hamba
5. Heart of a Lion
6. Miss Yuh
7. Make a Noise
8. We Run the Streets
9. Play Yuh Something
10. Rub A Dub Style
11. Uthando
12. Hamba [Radio]
Facebook:Crosby Bolani aka Digi Analog




Born Afrikan – The Past, Present & The Future


1. Open The Door
2. Kadona
3. Praises
4. Rasta Man Calling
5. Its Rough in the Streets
6. Keep The Sabbath
7. Partners in Crime Ft. Sizzla Kalonji
8. Bygones
9. Make You Mine
10. Black Woman
11. More Questions than Answers
12. Tell Me
13. Who is he
14. Goodbye

Genre: Reggae
Release: November 2017
Distributed by: VPAL

BotanistThe High Way EP


1. Africa ft. Bun’Pot & Pepsin
2.  Faith
3. Andenzi Ngabomo ft. Daddy Spencer & Jah Kongo
4. Jah Makes it Easy ft. Fruity Star
5. The Storm is Over ft. Bun’pot
6. Omiga ft. Skeleton Blazer
7. Miss Goodie
8. Mama
9. Bedroom Talk
10. Weed and ah Bottle
11. Miss Goodie Remix ft. King Vuvu & Pepsin

Genre: Reggae/Dancehall
Released: 04 April 2017



Spyda StringzRocky Road:

01. Shadows In the Dark
02. King of Kings
03. Rocky Road
04. So Much to Gain
05. Come & Get It
06. She Like It (Husband & Wifey)
07. Hail Up Selassie
08. Popular
09. Ready Fi Squeeze
10. Continue
11. We Can feat. Skeleton Da Scientist
12. For the Ladies
Release: September 2017
Genre: Reggae Dancehall

Top Ten Albums/EP 2016

Skeleton Da Scientist – Power within

It turns out The Power Within did not get releasd in 2016 as it was promoted, but only got its official commercial release earlier in 2017 and distributed by 21stHapilos.


01. Protect Us Jah
02. Dem Ah Badmind
03. Hottes’ Ting
04. Tun It Up Or Supm
05. Jah Keep Me Safe
06. Gonna Be Alright
07. Don’t Stray
08. Blesseth Is The Man
09. Dem Guilty
10. Blow By Blow
11. Just Lock Off
12. The Secret File
13. My Sunshine Darling
14. She Won’t Leave Me
15. No Escape
16. You No See Dem
17. Invalid
18. Number One Spot
Release: August 2017


Jah Link – The Anticipated


01. Finaly Here (Inro)
02. The Anticipated
03. I Pray
04. Too Jehovah
05. Thousand Miles
06. Holiday
07. Crazy Lover
08. Like We
09. Need A Virtuous Woman
10. Take A Look
Release: Nov 2017

RAINBOW – Wezama

The title is incorrectly spelled on the Album Cover. Its Wezama, also the lead track from the album. Rainbow only needs good strong management, coaching and good contacts. He’s got something. Listening to Wezama, is kinda hard to believe is only a youth singing with such fore-longing, distant memories. It conjures up images of the thousand rolling hills of Kwa-Zulu, of a young lad courting a young virgin at the river. The entire album is a pleasure to listen to, an will or should appeal to that group of critics who are always lamenting about South African artists copying Jamaican artists. Well, here is a youth who is copying Lucky Dube, Sipho Johnson…


  1. Wezama
    2. Ujiva Nin
    3. Illang LIshonile
    4. Your Love
    5. 123
    6. Malwande Mawande
    7. Difeqane
    8. Black Soul
    9. Mama
    10. You Choose
    11. Pitoli
    12. Original
    13. Little Mandelas

Steve Netshishivhe – Deep Roots of Dub

This is the fourth studio Album from Steve since he started recording back in 2011. Last year he released I Dub What I like – A tribute to Steve Biko. Steve is an OG who is keeping it real. His music is not available on line. You can order your copy directly from him and he will deliver; and when he delivers copy, he takes a selfie with you.

Track List

  1. Biko’s Painful Story
    2. I never trouble no one
    3. Deep Roots Dub
    4. We chant what we dub
    5. Dub of Good Men
    6. Natural Dub
    7. Biko’s Brutal Dub
    8. United we Dub
    9. Smiling Dub
    10. Rainbow Dub
    11. I never Dub No One
    12. Old Skool Dub
    13. Neotism of Dub
    14. Time To Dub

Composed and Produced by Steve Netshishivhe
Distributed by Steve Netshishivhe

To order your copy
Tel:  +27 769417508



Zoro closed off the year with a special gift to his fans. An 11 track album packed with inspirational songs sang in his mother toungue, isiXhosa. It is a combination of Reggae, Afro, Electronic and World Music. It was released in November on Jumendo Music and available for free download.

Track List

  1. Siyasebenza
    2.Singama Warrior
    5. Indaba Zabantu
    6. Shosholoza
    7. Isixhobo Somthiyoli
    8. Siyakhala
    9. Mtomnyama
    10. Sometimes

Listen and Download HERE


Fyah Prince – Jah Sent

Image result for fyah prince jah sent

Track List

1. Lover
2. Lion of Judah
3. Ini mini mani mo
4. Marching Home
5. People Dem Calling
6. Word
7. Hail Him
8. Jah Bless
9. La Famille
10. Free Up
11. Blackness


Ben Priest – Jah Live
Track List
1. Shall not Be Forever
2. Not Every Smile
3.Jah Live
4.Think Twice
5. Right Hand
6. Love Afrika
7. Na Lie
8. I Wanna